Thursday, December 14, 2006

Official Space Weather Advisory: Geomagnetic Storm in Progress

A geomagnetic storm began on December 14 at 1416 UTC (9:16 A.M. EST). A solar flare on 13 December at 0240 UTC (12 December, 9:40 P.M. EST) from NOAA Region 930 produced strong radio blackouts (R3) and an associated moderate (S2) solar radiation storm. A large Earth-directed coronal mass ejection was also observed with this event, producing today's geomagnetic storming. Strong to severe (G3 - G4) geomagnetic storming is expected to last through 15 December.

Aside from potentially nasty things like knocking out power grids and communication systems, the storm should provide spectaular northern lights.


No comments: